8 Lessons I Learned On My 28th.

May is one of the most important months for me, considering that a wonderful creation of God (gee I wonder who that is!) was born on it (wink, wink). If you read my May 2012 post, you’d know that for the longest time, I was not the happiest when May comes. I’ve always been a grinch when it comes to my birth month. But everything changed last year. That’s when I almost lost my life, along with the lives of the two most important people of my life- my mom and my husband.

Early this year, I was really excited for May. I filed for a week-long birthday leave because well, I just knew that I will be enjoying my May.

And you know what? Surprise, surprise! The Lord is consistent with His ‘birthday gift’ to me. He is consistent with His promises. And He is definitely consistent with His lessons.

So allow me please, to share with you 8 lessons I learned from my 28 years of existence. (Sorry, 28 lessons would be too long! :D) Here goes:

LIFE IS SHORT. A month ago, I lost a dear friend. It was April fool’s, and believe me, all of us wished his death was some April fool’s joke. A brother from my spiritual family, Richard, came home to our Maker. His death came as a surprise for most of us, because we never had it coming. I mean who sees a death coming, right? I honestly thought I was done with the whole ‘life is short’ thing because well, my dad died so suddenly. But we can never be prepared for someone’s death. I realized again, even if I had already thought of this before, how short life is. So we must make the most our of our lives. We must restore broken relationships, forgive those who’ve hurt us (even if it pains us so much to do so!), and ask for forgiveness from those we’ve hurt. We must take time to love, to be patient, to understand. Because everything in this world is temporary. And most importantly, we must take time to share the gospel.

WE ARE NEVER TOO OLD FOR SURPRISES. I was disheartened when I learned of Richard’s death but after a few weeks, the Lord surprised me with a month-early birthday present: a little baby wrapped in my belly! 🙂 I’ve always hated surprises (talk about being a super duper grinch) but this is one surprise I wouldn’t trade with anything else! It was the perfect time, I swear- with all that’s been going around us.. around me. I was actually feeling hopeless for a time as I’ve been dealing with a lot of personal stuff lately.. but my early birthday present came just when I needed it the most! It gave me hope and, well, life! 🙂

WE MUST DO EVERYTHING IN LOVE.  This is such a challenge, I know! It’s my first year being married and I am still a work in progress. I guess I always will be, huh? My husband inspires me to do things out of love. I am not the easiest person to spend the rest of your life with but my husband’s love for me becomes the motivator for him to do things for me. His love for me, and him doing everything in love, teaches me to be more loving, selfless, and understanding. Doing everything in love, not only as a wife, but as a daughter, a sister, a friend makes doing the hardest things a little bit easier, if not at all easy-breezy.

RELAX, IT’S NOT THE END OF THE WORLD. I have always been a control freak. I always make sure everything goes well, and though I consider myself flexible, I sometimes freak out when things don’t go my way. I always want to know “so what’s next?”, “where do we go from here?” , or “now what??”. I always want answers even before questions arise. I read on a blog once that “You may be uncomfortable with the uncertainty, but some of the best things in life are born from those times of being open to new opportunities.” Being obsessive-compulsive is not at all bad, but there are times when we just need to breathe, relax, and take things slow.

PEOPLE YOU LOVE WILL HURT AND DISAPPOINT YOU. I always put my faith in people. I always make sure I give someone the benefit of the doubt, and I refuse to think ill of others, unless otherwise seen and proven by my very eyes. Unfortunately, the people we choose to love hurt us the most. The people whom we think deserve our trust least deserve it. Either they betray us or do something that we never thought they can do to us. But such is life. People make mistakes… even the ones we love.

FORGIVENESS IS, AND WILL ALWAYS BE A  CHOICE. OUR CHOICE. While we may read books or instructional stuff to tell us how to forgive (in detail!), forgiveness must start within us. We must choose to forgive, and yes, to forget.

FAMILY ALWAYS COMES FIRST. We have always been a closely-knit family. We go through stuff together, discuss issues and share our opinions, and resolve our differences. It is a bit crazy how we can’t afford to schedule dates or appointments on Sunday because first, it is Church day, and second, because it is family day… but I wouldn’t wanna be anywhere else. My family has been with me all throughout my highest and lowest. Family sticks with you until the end.

LIFE IS A BLESSING. I guess to sum everything up, we must always remember that life is definitely a blessing. I mean, this is a birthday entry after all! 😀 How often do we take our lives for granted, and how often do we regret our shoulda-woulda-couldas? Life is a blessing. Comedian Ogie Diaz always says, “every gising is a blessing!” And that is so true! Life’s a gift.

Oh, here’s a little gallery of how my year was spent. 🙂 I may not always be where I want to be but I am certain that I am where God wants me to be. And that makes all the difference.

Thank you Jesus, for the gift of new life! And thank you, for being part of my happy 28 years!

Leave a Reply

