The Year of Goodbye.

I officially branded my 2011 as ‘the year of goodbye’: most of my closest (like literally) friends and I had to bid each other our own version of, well, goodbye.  It’s as if there’s a race as to the ‘highest number of friends who leave the country’ (and if there is, I would definitely win!). Some of them left  for another country because they had better job offers, some to seek “greener pastures”, some because they migrated, some because they wanted to find themselves. And as if losing my friends temporarily wasn’t enough, the fiance and I also went through a long distance relationship last year. I wasn’t that happy about it,but you could say that I was happy that the Lord is expanding and extending his territorry.

Just like with my friends.

I am thankful because I have been with them in their “waiting”; I have witnessed them apply for the best possible job for them and witnessed their joy when it came to pass. I am thankful because I know that it is God who is moving in their lives.

These people are not just my friends; they are my spiritual family. They may be from different places and I may have met them from different places but I have matured spiritually with them. From my “baby Christian steps” to bigger ones, I have been with them. I grew in faith with them. So yeah, you could imagine my despair when all of them had to go in one year.

My first memory of saying goodbye was when I was in the 3rd grade. My father was a pastor, and he was assigned to a lot of churches. That means his family also had to transfer with him. It’s not as bad as you think, actually, because I’ve been to a lot of schools and I’ve met a lot of amazing friends (most of them I have developed a spiritual closeness until now). It’s just that, of course, I had to deal with the pain of losing my friends for a moment and being the “new girl” for a while.

LOSING FRIENDS FOR A MOMENT. A MOMENT. NOT FOREVER.

You’d think that my childhood experience makes me an expert in dealing with goodbyes but apparently it doesn’t. I’m not really good with goodbyes. And I don’t think people will ever master the “art of letting go”. So let me just adopt the “let’s not and say we did” philosophy: as in, just don’t say goodbye, and then you won’t have to say goodbye. A simple “see you later” has much the same effect.

Here’s a shout out to you, my friends who I deeply miss. And I pray for you the exact same words from the Irish:

May the road rise up to meet you.

May the wind be always at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face,

and rains fall soft upon your fields.

And until we meet again, until we meet again,

May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

I’ll see you later, friends.

With Nikkibabes, one of my cell babies. Their family migrated to Canada last year.
The Mocha sisters With our dear Kuya Bojo, who's now in the US with his wife who I also miss, Didi. (Sorry I can't find a picture of us together, Didi :c)
My spiritual family (ALAB) with our balikbayan Noy. 🙂 Noy now resides in the US with his wife and son.
3 thoughts on “The Year of Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

