Book Love.

I just love to read. Sometimes I read two books at the same time. I can’t help it! I get bored that easily; sometimes I think I have ADHD! So when Scott Berkun made this a topic, you can just imagine how giddy I was. 🙂

Here are 5 books that have influenced me the most:

1. Boy Meets Girl by Joshua Harris

I used to be jaded with men. Seriously. So when I broke up with my long-time ex-boyfriend, I decided it was time to kiss dating goodbye. I was really focused on the Lord that I never really thought I would want to be in a relationship again. I read this book during the days when I wasn’t really looking for someone but I was expectant that in God’s perfect time, the right man for me will come. This book just brings out the hopeless romantic in me. It made me excited for my “future” (now I’m on it) relationship. It is a book for biblical courtship. Boy meets girl is definitely a book for those who are waiting for God’s perfect timing, or for those who already found “the one”. Simply put, it’s a book for everybody.

2. What’s So Amazing About Grace by Philip Yancey

Sigh. Grace. I don’t think I can ever get enough of it. I AM A CERTIFIED GRACE ADDICT! During the lowest point of my life, (I just got out of a bad relationship, I was hurting and very much angry at the world), this book helped me a lot. It helped me release all the angst and it helped me extend forgiveness to those who’ve hurt me, and most especially, to myself. It’s a blessing! God’s grace is indeed amazing.

3. Extravagant Worship by Darlene Zschech

When I was 21, the Lord called me to become a worship leader. Leading worship is such a huge ministry, and in this book, Darlene Zschech shares of her experiences in being a worship leader and of what it means to be an extravagant worshiper. This is a must-read book not just for worship leaders but to all worshipers in general.

4. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

I am a huge fan of Mitch Albom. I mean, who isn’t, right?? His books are all very inspiring. The Five People You Meet in Heaven is just very refreshing. It’s not just a book about death. For me, the book tells more of forgiveness, family and love.

5. Your Best Life Now by Joel Osteen

Joel Osteen is a blessing. When I started having my quarterlife crisis (I did not know what to do next, I was getting depressed because there are things that I know I can do but I cannot), this book encouraged and reminded me that the Lord has so much in store for me and I should not sit passively anymore. It is time to start declaring God’s favor in my life.

Leave a Reply

