Stressed Out.

As of the moment, I have two huge zits in my face. My officemate is calling me “Fruity”… “fruitygyawat” (pimple face) daw kasi ako!! Hahaha. Well this isn’t really an issue for me because I’ve had really bad skin when I was in college. Thank God I got out of that stage. Now am pimple-free, except during times like this when I have a monthly visitor- my monthly period. I mean, talk about hormones!

Another reason why I have these huge-ass pimples is because I AM STRESSED. Like seriously. I’ve got like tons of projects lined up at work and two of them are due this month; I have this “issue” with my future (tick-tock biological clock!-talk about quarter life crisis); and who could forget the fact that I am in a long distance relationship with my fiancé?

STRESS. Who doesn’t experience it? It’s part of our system. In Nursing, I was taught that stress is part of our GAS (General Adaptation System).

And if you don’t know it yet, this world that we’re living in is but stressful.  The traffic, the everyday hustle-bustle with the people that we deal with … need I say more?

So how do you deal with stress?

I made a survey of WHAT PEOPLE DO WHEN THEY ARE STRESSED OUT and here are my friends’ answers:

  •        Read a book
  •        Listen to music
  •        Go for a walk
  •        Watch TV
  •        Stress eating, stress shopping, stress sleeping. Basically diverting energies somewhere else.— which causes more stress after
  •        Not speak to anyone for a while…then silent prayer.
  •        Eat chocolates
  •        Count from 1 to 10
  •        Sing
  •        Workout

There’s a popular place in Gerona, Tarlac, the Isdaan, which is known for the “Tacsyapo wall”- here’s what they offer:

 

With my sistoy Bijoy and my mug. A mug is worth 15php. 🙂

I have to do my pre-smash pose 😀

Now it’s Hans turn to pose before he smashes the wall. 😀

And yes they do sell TV! 😀

There’s also an anti stress therapy kit found on the internet:

I wouldn’t wanna do that. Haha.

I have learned that there are 3 causes of stress:

1. Natural

Well, this cause of stress is something that we do not have control of. Traffic. Sigh. Death of a loved one. For college students, midterm exams, then graduating, then what to do after college. For young adults like me, it’s well, what to do with our lives.

Yesterday I had two meetings- one in QC and one in Manila. I refuse to learn how to drive (plus I don’t really have the time to do it!) so I had to take the fx and meet my boss in Manila. Great. After that we had to go somewhere else. I was assigned as the speaker of our midweek service which starts at 8pm. It was already 6:00, and it will take forever to get to church. Thankfully, the driver is a gifted man, he drives recklessly (okay, that’s one of the times am thankful for a speedy driver)…until it rained so hard! That was not supposed to be a major problem because I have my new fashionable umbrella but as I stepped out of the fx, my sandals (I change from high heels to flip flops or flats or sandals after work so I won’t have a hard time commuting) gave up on me! Something happened to the strap and literally the one on right was broken! So there I was, walking, dragging my right foot as I walk, with the rain falling so hard on me. I had my shoes in my bag but it was raining sooooo hard and I couldn’t think of a way to change into them. Thankfully, there was a cab where I was so I went inside right away and told the driver what happened to my sandals and he agreed to drive me to church, despite the fact that the church was only a few blocks away.

Talk about how stressful my day was! So yeah, that’s an example of a natural cause of stress.

2.Self-inflicted

I know of someone from work who is a shopaholic. I am actually one, too, but not as obsessed with shopping as she is. She buys stuff even though she no longer has money. Like she really borrows money from us just so she can buy the stuff she wants. And then one day we got a call from the bank and she like owes the bank like 200,000 php or something. She’s in so much credit card debt! Everyday the bank calls and she just hides from the caller. That’s what she does every single day!

It’s sad to say but most of our problems, most of the stress that we have, we brought to ourselves.

3. Oppositional

When you’re doing something that your body or you do not approve of- that’s oppositional stress. And this is something biblical, too, for the bible says that “our battle is not of flesh and blood, but against power and principalities”.

There’s actually one important character in the bible who can relate to us in terms of stress. He’s probably one of the most stressed personalities in the bible.

Let me introduce you to a man named David.

David was anointed as king, he has lots of brothers, and he was the least expected to be king of Israel. King Saul was the king of that time but God is now rejecting him because he was no longer fulfilling the purpose of God—So God chose another man, another young man to be the king. David at one point was asked by his parents to bring some food for his brothers in the battle, for the war—and he sees a giant who was defying the army of the living god so he takes that battle against a giant, a Philistine, and he goes and takes a battle and he said, “The battle is no longer mine, the battle is the lords.”  He fights for it. He wins, kills goliath.

Saul kills thousands, David kills ten thousands. Because of this Saul was jealous—- one time David was playing harp inside a place and Saul gets his spear and tries to pin David to the wall—-David did not get hit, flees from Saul and sees himself as the fugitive. He then finds refuge in a place called Ziclag—- he actually allies w/ king Aquish (the # archenemy) of the Philistines because he uses this as his strategy: his modus was that whenever he would fight into battle, King Aquish will be thinking that he’s fighting against Israel but he’s actually killing the Philistine army.

Scene comes that the Philistines were on one side and King Saul and Israel on the other. There was Saul on the one side—-philistine on the other side—- with David and 600 men behind the army. And that’s when the commander of Philistine army realized that David was one of the officers of king Saul? And he tells this to King Aquish – what if he turns his back from us this to be able to get favour from King Saul- to betray him- So they did not trust the guy and King Aquish sent David back to Ziclag which was his hiding place.

1 Samuel 30-

1 David and his men reached Ziclag on the third day. Now the Amalekites had raided the Negev and Ziclag. They had attacked Ziclag and burned it, 2 and had taken captive the women and everyone else in it, both young and old. They killed none of them, but carried them off as they went on their way. 3 When David and his men reached Ziclag, they found it destroyed by fire and their wives and sons and daughters taken captive. 4 So David and his men wept aloud until they had no strength left to weep. 5 David’s two wives had been captured—Ahinoam of Jezreel and Abigail, the widow of Nabal of Carmel.

Imagine how stressed out David must have felt! He was sent home only to find out that his home was burned down, his two wives were gone (that’s prolly the most stressful part!), and now his friends were thinking of stoning him. It definitely was not his day.

And then we learn David’s secret: 6 David was greatly distressed because the men were talking of stoning him; each one was bitter in spirit because of his sons and daughters. But David found strength in the LORD his God.

Now how do we deal with stress?

While I can go on and on and tell you tips on how we can deal with stress, the bible gives us truths on how we can handle our stressors.

1. Proverbs 3: 5-6

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not in your own understanding…”

At home or in the office, We can pretend like we’re sitting in the couch, squatting, or we can actually grab a couch or a chair where we could sit comfortably, leaning our entire weight on the chair. Sometimes, we look for outlets where we can lean on and realize the strength that we get is just temporary. Eventually we will get tired. But the Lord reminds us to put our trust in Him, lean on Him and not on our own strength.

2. Romans 8:28

“And we know that all things work together for the good of those who love God.”

All things work together for the good of me! *sigh* Isn’t that super awesome??? I mean, how awesome it is to know that I have a God who is at work, whatever my situation may be? Even I screw up most of the time, even if I bring self-inflicted stress on myself, the Lord is still at work in my life! He is bigger than my mistakes, bigger than my sins! I mean, when I’m 90 years old I can just sit and say, “okay, I’ve lived my life- I made some stupid actions and some awesome ones, but I’m okay because I have a God who was at work the whole time.”

3. Psalm 46:10

“Be still and know that I am God.”

Another version says, “CEASE STRIVING and know that I am God.” Most days I struggle with my situation because I WANT TO BE IN CONTROL! I am such a perfectionist and more often than not, I am stubborn to take control of my situation. But God says, “child, be still! Calm down, I am God. I am in control.” I dunno about you but for me, that makes me say, “okay Lord, you take charge!”. I can just sit back, relax, and enjoy what God has in store for me. He is God after all.

Such a sweet, sweet, reminder. How comforting it is to know that I have a Big God who is in charge of my life. All it takes for me is to Trust in Him, know that He is at work in my life, and that He is in control.

There is no genuine strength until it is found in the Lord our God.

Note: some points were from a sermon I heard a long time ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

