The Amnesia Girl.

So it’s not actually my first time to watch this movie.  I’ve seen it a thousand times already. The first time was when I watched it in a movie house (jologs alet!) with my mom and favorite cousin- don’t get me wrong- I take pride in being jologs. HAHA. I watch Pinoy movies all the time, and yes, I laugh and weep at some of the movie lines almost all the time. The second, third, and bagillionth time I watched at home.

For those of you who haven’t seen the movie yet, here goes: (I just copied it from Wikipedia,okay?):

When Apollo (John Lloyd Cruz) finds himself surrounded by friends who are beginning to settle down, he is faced with the possibility of finding his true love. It all boils down to one name: Irene. It must be fate then, when he once again sees Irene (Toni Gonzaga), his ex-girlfriend from three years ago with whom he had the best memories with. Apollo and Irene were a perfect couple, and were engaged to be married. It all ended at the altar when Apollo had a bout of cold feet and left Irene alone in the aisle.

Now, Irene pretends to have no recollection of Apollo, having acquired “amnesia” shortly after their separation. Apollo sees this as the perfect opportunity to pursue Irene again, and be able to undo all the mistakes he made in the past, by offering Irene the best memories she could ever have.

True love is difficult to resist, they learn. Just when they find themselves ready to commit to each other, the pains from the past catch up with them, challenging them to finally own up to the mistakes made and lies said, and eventually realize what it is to forgive and forget.

So if you think it’s something like 50 First Dates, you’re all wrong. You should really watch it. Like seriously. I know it’s already too late for a review of this film but can I just say that it really is a good movie? Come on, there’s John Lloyd and Toni G (who happens to be a church mate-am I too biased? :D)- two of the best young talents in showbiz today. And the story line was written beautifully, too. HELLOOOOOOO. It’s really a feel-good movie that brings a little “something” (I can’t really think of a word to describe it) to our hearts.

The reason why I am writing this is because I was reminded of this crazy incident when my bff texted me. She was crying, and she said she just watched My Amnesia Girl and for some weird reason, she just cried and cried and cried. You see, she just got off from a really serious relationship (too serious they were supposed to get married last year). They’ve broken up for 3 years now, I think. She thought she’s already okay but as it turned out, she’s not yet okay. The hurt that she’s kept in her for so long came rushing back to her; the pain that she’s tried to hide to people just went out. All because she watched My Amnesia Girl. I know, it’s that influential.

I think the reason why the movie has influenced us a lot is because in one way or another, we’ve had our “Amnesia Girl” moment: that moment when you think you’ve already moved on with your life after a breakup but upon seeing the person who broke your heart, you realize that you’re not yet over the relationship. That moment wherein we pretend like we’ve forgotten everything a guy did to us but eventually everything just came back to us. That moment when we thought we are already over a guy but when we see him we realize we’re just fooling ourselves. That moment when we’ve practiced our lines already but when we see the guy who ruined our lives again, we get tongue-tied and cannot think of words to say to that person. *sigh*

In the movie, Irene, after her “scene” at the altar, thought of words to say to Apollo if ever they will meet again. When that moment came, the first words that she said were “SINO KA?” (who are you?), pretending like she cannot recall the guy even though the memories were still fresh in her mind.

There’s this guy who, sad to say, cheated on me. I super loved him with all my heart but apparently he never really loved me back. Of course I got over him and the relationship already (by the grace of God). During my “coping days” (and even until now), I think of the moment when we will see each other face to face again. And yes, even before this movie was shown, I’ve thought of lines to say to him if ever our paths will once again cross:

Him: Gmae?

Gmae: Oh hi! (gives a hug)

*awkward moment*

Him: looking at me in disbelief, disgusted at himself for letting go someone as beautiful as me

Hi! How are you?

*Hans enters, in all his hunkiness, being so handsome and tall and all*

Hans: Hi babe! (kisses me in the lips) Ready to go?

Gmae: Oh, Hi babe, this is *bleep*. *Bleep*, this is Hans, my husband.

Did I just kick his butt or what???? HAHA.

*flips hair*

So anyway. We can never really tell what the future holds for us. I mean, who knows? Maybe your first boyfriend, who was your elementary classmate, after not seeing each other for a long time, sees you again and eventually asks you to marry him? Or maybe your ex fiancee’ bumps at you somewhere with someone new.

So I really suggest we all have a ready “Amnesia Girl Line”.

Or maybe we should just move on with our lives and like Irene, let the words naturally come out of our hearts. Don’t worry, when that time comes to me, I shall blog about the moment and the words that would run out of my mouth.

4 thoughts on “The Amnesia Girl.

Leave a Reply

